heidicakesbakes

Just another WordPress.com site

Gourmet Grilled Cheese :) November 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — heidicakes11 @ 10:57 pm

I thought it would only be appropriate to have my first recipe be a grilled cheese of some sort…I thought for a while about what type I should make, but there was really only one that I was craving.

I first had a rendition of this grilled cheese at my favorite bistro, Lovin’ Cup, in Rochester, NY. I’ve tried to recreate it countless times and, though its never been exactly the same, I think I’ve come close!

 

Fig, Turkey and Goat Cheese Panini

Serves 4

8 slices thick cut bread (I used Golden Fig bread)

1/2 cup fig preserves

1/2 cup baby spinach leaves

16 slices turkey breast coldcuts (can substitute with Prosciutto)

4- 1/2″ thick portion of goat cheese

Cooking spray

Heat panini maker (or skillet). Spray with cooking spray. Lay out the 8 slices of bread on countertop. On 4 of the slices, spread the fig preserves evenly. Top with spinach leaves, making certain to divide the spinach leaves evenly between the 4 slices. Set aside. On the remaining 4 slices of bread, spread a 1/2″ portion of goat cheese evenly across each slice of bread, then top each with 4 slices of turkey breast. Pair together the two sides of each sandwich, making 4 sandwiches. Place on panini maker (or skillet). Cook for 4-6 minutes, or until golden brown. If cooking on a skillet, be sure to cook both sides evenly. Slice in half and ENJOY!! šŸ™‚

 

2 Responses to “Gourmet Grilled Cheese :)”

  1. Diana Van Gorder Says:

    I love how the whole time we had your panini maker in the apartment we never used it and we could’ve been making these!

  2. Chef Dennis Says:

    That is a delicious looking grilled cheese!! The fig bread sounds amazing!!
    Welcome to foodbuzz and if you need any help navigating foodbuzz, feel free to ask!
    Dennis


Leave a Reply

