heidicakesbakes

Just another WordPress.com site

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies!! November 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — heidicakes11 @ 1:54 am

Last weekend, my friend Kellie was visiting and I had to find a special dessert that both her and I could enjoy…

 

 

I stumbled upon a recipe for Vegan Gluten-Free Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies and we went for it! We had to travel far to find gluten free rolled oats, but it was sooo worth it! These cookies are almost cake-like and moist and deeelicious!

I wanted to share this new treat at Thanksgiving so I decided to try this recipe again with some variations… I didn’t have any gluten free oats since Kellie has those now, but regular rolled oats worked fine. I also had only 3/4 a cup of pumpkin puree and didn’t know exactly what to do about that… I know butternut squash can be substituted for pumpkin puree in this recipe, but I also didn’t have any of that… I had some mashed sweet potato laying around for my nexttt recipe (yummm) so I thought that might work! It didn’t. I wouldn’t recommend the sweet potato, though it didn’t make them inedible. I also used whole wheat flour and all purpose white flour instead of oat flour because I didn’t have any gluten-free flour lying around…

Anyway, these cookies still came out delicious, just not as heavenly as the first time!

Enjoy (and try not to make as many variations as I did)!!!

 

 

Yield: 2 dozen cookies

 

1 cup softened virgin coconut oil (or unsalted butter)

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 1/2 cups brown sugar

1/4 cup ground flax seeds

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup rolled oats

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon sea salt

1 Tbs cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg



In a large bowl beat together, using an electric mixer, the coconut oil or butter, pumpkin, brown sugar, flax seeds, and vanilla extract. Add the remaining ingredients and beat together again.


Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. While your oven is preheating let your cookie dough rest on the counter for 20 minutes. The flour will absorb some of the liquid during this time which helps the cookies hold their shape.


Drop by the spoonful onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake for 12 to 15 minutes or until slightly golden around the edges. Remove cookies and place them onto a wire rack to cool. Cookies are best after they have cooled. Source: www.NourishingMeals.com


 

Leave a Reply

